UCERIS Reviews – A New Colitis Medication (Budesonide)

iHaveUC.com founder Adam super happy that so many UC'ers posted their UCERIS reviews so quickly!!:)

iHaveUC.com founder Adam super happy that so many UC’ers posted their UCERIS reviews so quickly!!:)

How did UCERIS work for YOU?

(also called Budesonide )

With the previous posting from Alice on this potential alternative to “prednisone”, I think its for sure time we add a new “medication review” for UCERIS.

Here is a direct quote from the UCERIS website:

“UCERIS is a different kind of treatment for ulcerative colitis. It is specifically designed to target the colon and helps eliminate the symptoms of UC, with a safety profile similar to placebo (sugar pill). UCERIS is a prescription corticosteroid medicine used to help get mild to moderate UC under control.”

So, if you have experience with UCERIS, please fill out a review regarding your experience via the button below!

And, if you are interested in reading Alice’s story which talks about UCERIS, you can do so via the link to her story her – .

Research on Uceris (Budesonide):

A Safety Evaluation of Budesonide MMX for the treatment of Ulcerative Colitis (February 23, 2018)

CLICK THE BUTTON BELOW

to ADD YOUR REVIEW:










Submit your review
1
2
3
4
5
Submit
     
Cancel

Create your own review

Uceris
Average rating:  
 142 reviews
by Tim on Uceris
Uceris Foam

I just started a nasty flair in December, which is out of the ordinary for me as I usually flair each year in spring until October/November. I am now feeling desperate and extremely frustrated. I am a financial advisor that had a huge upside until UC flairs have crushed my work life 10 years ago and now I feel like I'm in a depressing survival mode struggling to be productive (no fixed income, I only get compensated for adding value to clients). Each year my results have been getting worse.

I have taken Lialda for years and my physician just switched me to Sulfasalazine. I absolutely can't stand any pharmaceuticals but I can't control my UC with any diet that I have tried.

My physician also just started me on Uceris Foam which I started a few days ago. Please share with me anyone's experiences with the foam! My major concern is that I can't keep it in for more than a few hours and after paying around $1,300 for it my gas and bowel movements are now feeling very expensive! Does anyone have any tips for keeping it in longer?

Thanks,
Tim

by Denise on Uceris
cost suggestions?

my mother had a trial of 30 days and it worked great she stopped it because the prescription with medicare rx payment was $966. She is on a fixed income and did not pick up the medication. She had great results...she is in a flare now and I am looking for a coupon or program for assistance? Does anyone know of any?

by Brian on Uceris
Worked wonders

After initial UC diagnosis and six weeks of unsuccessful treatment with other drugs my GI doctor said let's try the Rolls-Royce drug and put me on six weeks of uceris. Within seven days the flare subsided and I was symptom free by the end of treatment. I've been on daily mesalamine since, and my latest colonoscopy showed effective remission. Uceris is very expensive, but I'd have to say worth the price.

by Rebecca on Uceris

Not a fan, but it helped my symptoms short term. Not as effective as Prednisone for me.

by Jamie Barrett on Uceris
Uceris

The first time I used Uceris it took me out of a flare in two weeks. Never had any side effects, but my Dr. does not keep me on it more than a month. The second time it did not work, but I was under an enormous amount of stress. My Dr. put me on Immuran (sp?) for a short while then added Cromolyn Sodium when I was better and took me off Immuran and I am now on Cromolyn. Cromolyn Sodium has little or no side effects. I am also on apriso twice a day and follow the SCD diet with adding foods in that seem to be O.K.

I am an Event Planner a very stressful job and into another season and another flare up. I took Uceris and got rid of the bloody stools and cleared up somewhat. Trying now to go back to the SCD diet, but it is hard once you can eat all the gluten free products including corn tortilla's. On, cooked vegetables, meat, eggs and yogurt only. Seems to help and trying to be patient.

by D on Uceris
too early to tell

I have been using the Uceris rectal foam for 2 weeks now and it has not stopped the bleeding. The only difference is somewhat less diarrhea. Canasa for 2 weeks did nothing! The Uceris is twice a day for 2 weeks, and then once a day for 4 weeks. I am hopeful that this works and so disgusted with this horrible condition! Dr. is suggesting biologics and I really don't want to do that...

by Shannon on Uceris
Worked....but at a price

I've been on Uceris for a loooong time, way longer than I should have been because nothing else worked for me. I have not had any side effects that I know of. However, I recently found out through endo testing that my adrenal glands are completely shut down because of the Uceris. The drug is touted as "GI specific" and not as bad as prednisone, but be aware that it can cause the same problems as prednisone!!

by Alex on Uceris
It seems to be working....

I am on Mesalamine pills daily and have been doing Uceris for a month. NO side effects that I can identify and I think it is working because I have not had a flare, but I had not had a flare for 5 months before I started taking Uceris. My Gastro MD believes Uceris will help calm down the inflammation in the lower part of the colon which gives me the UC diagnosis.

by Mike Green on Uceris
Uceris

Used it for three months and then switched to Stelara which is not doing well for me. Uceris did seem to work but it is a steroid and hard to stay with.

by Debbie on Uceris
Hair loss with Uceris

Hair falling out by the brush full

by Cheyanne on Uceris
Uceris

It makes me incredibly angry/moody

by Andi Nieman on Uceris
Uceris for microscopic colitis

Decreased diarrhea immensely. SEffects: weight gain,vag bleeding,facial hair increase,moon face

by Peter on Uceris
It works, but really feeling the rage

Has been great in terms of reducing my flare and doesn't have as many side effects as pred, but unfortunately, it still comes with the rage - absolutely furious irascibility. Where normally, I'd just shake it off, I'm really struggling to not fly off the handle...

by Shirley on Uceris
Budesonide 3 mg

I had C-Diff in 2015 from too many antibiotics given for kidney stones. Finally after app. 6-8 months, got rid of it, taking Vancomycin. The diarrhea continued, I had a colonoscopy, showing I had Microscopic (collagenous) Colitis. Dr. prescribed Budesonide 3 mg. tab each day. After 2-3 days, I couldn't have a bowel movement & was in pain from it. I have tried several different ways of taking from 1 each day to every other day. To no avail, I just can't stand the constipation.

I just found out that the Budesonide has lactose in it, which I have an allergy to.

I am a 79 year old female. Dr. just put me on Lialda 1.2 GM twice each day & Predisone10 mg.once each day. I've been on these two for two weeks & am still having terrible diarrhea. I have also modified my diet to exclude fiber, acids, etc. I wonder if anyone else had the constipation problem from Budesonide. Thanks

by Lynn Koons on Uceris
Uceris user

I am on my 6th and final week of Uceris. It has helped, but definitely has not stopped the bleeding. The side effects that I have experienced are insomnia, leg cramps and headaches. Was so hoping that this medicine would be the answer to my prayers. But it doesn't seem to be for ME.

by K. Hill on Uceris

Started using uceris back in December 2016. Its late January 2017 now and it seems like its helping my flare up but I think its giving me lower back pain and I have these big red swollen lumps all over my legs. I really can't give a review right now. I'll see you guys in another few months

by Laura F on Uceris
Uceris-a double edged sword

Started with Lialda,added prednisone, then added Uceris, and was weaned off prednisone. I have been on Uceris for 4 months. All the steroids are starting to affect my body though. Tiredness and they have increased what was controlled high blood pressure, to the point the md will probably add more bp medicine, as it is now extremely high. Very frustrating. About 95% in remission, except when I start to get stressed about my bp, which doesn't help. Uceris is not a forever drug, I know. And I am determined to go the other direction, not add more UC drugs to my regimen. Any thoughts? The high blood pressure is really a concern. 189/90, so I will probably be going off very shortly here. It was good while it lasted.

by Kate on Uceris
Uceris

Intially the Uceris seemed to help with my moderate UC, I noticed less blood. However as time went on, the blood returned. I used it just over two months. My appetite increased, I gained 10 lbs. even though I workout 5 days a week. I was extremely bloated and gassy. I am a thin person, so this was extremely difficult on me. I stopped 5 days ago. First I was nauseated and tired, but that is getting better daily. I have also taken Canasa and Lialda. None of which has helped. Going to gastro next week to discuss other options.

by Rose on Uceris
Uceris

I have had an extremely positive view of taking Uceris for three months. I have had no side effects and I wish I were able to take it full time, but as it is a corticosteroid , I realize that is not possible. I was prescribed Uceris after terrible reactions to trials of (Canasa, Apriso, and sulfasalazine). I, unfortunately am in the small percentage who can not take/tolerate 5-ASA meds, a real bummer for me!! Uceris brought me back to a normal state of living. Now I have to figure out a remission plan without the helpful 5-ASA's that most folks can take. I do know I can count on Uceris for flare-ups. It works wonderfully well.

by Dawn on Uceris
Uceris

I was on Uceris for 10 days but the horrific gas (and pain along with it), increased acne, increased blood pressure and mood swings were not worth it. I stopped and am continuing with Lialda.

Page 1 of 8:
«
 
 
1
2
3
 
»
 

budesonide, UCERIS

30 Responses to UCERIS Reviews – A New Colitis Medication (Budesonide)

  1. Gina D
    Gina May 8, 2014 at 10:15 am #

    The first dose I used it work but then within days it didnt work anymore. Ive suffered from pretty aggressive flares for 7 years so maybe it would work better for someone with a milder case.

  2. Anita Agarwala May 8, 2014 at 10:32 am #

    I had a moderate flare and my doctor prescribed be Uceris since I refused to take prednisone. It took almost 2 weeks before I stopped pooping blood. I am in remission now but still on the medication. I have been taking Uceris for little over a month now. I did not gain any weight. As a matter of fact, I lost 10 Lbs and feel great.

  3. Chris L May 8, 2014 at 10:35 am #

    This med was a nightmare for me.

  4. Erik May 8, 2014 at 10:54 am #

    I’ve was in a pretty serious flare up Jan-Mar this year. Started taking Humira in Jan and added Uceris in late March. Over the course of April the flare has gone away – symptoms improved but not completely gone. It’s hard to tell whether it’s Humira or Uceris that’s making the difference

  5. Kira H
    Kira May 8, 2014 at 12:58 pm #

    I was put on Uceris as I was weaning off prednisone. At first I saw great results, but a month later I tested positive for C-diff which sent me into a horrible flare. I have stayed on Uceris this whole time, and had to go back on prednisone, flagyl, and cipro. I am not sure why my doctors have allowed me to stay on it for 5 months. I didn’t notice any side effects from it. Also I should note that I am most likely headed for surgery. My UC may just be too far along for Uceris to work, nothing else is working either.

  6. erin May 8, 2014 at 3:24 pm #

    I have been on Uceris for the better part of 4 months now, along with Lialda. Previously I have been on Canasa, Asacol HD, hydrocortisone enemas, & prednisone. Prednisone (high dosage) was the only thing that got me into remission. I stayed in remission for 9 months, then BOOM! Back came the cramping, bleeding, and other foul beasts that UC breeds. The Uceris has helped some but I haven’t been able to achieve true remission. Docs are talking about Remicade or Humira for me next, which frankly, scare the mess out of me. Fewer side effects with Uceris but I still have dry mouth and some acne. Wish it had worked better for me. I’m trying a paleo diet as a last ditch effort to stay off biologics…

  7. Amanda C
    Amanda June 20, 2014 at 12:06 pm #

    More of a question: Anyone know if this is available in Canada?
    Thanks!

  8. Erin L. June 29, 2014 at 8:31 pm #

    My doc just prescribed uceris as I can’t seem to get off of prednisone. Just wondering what the transition was for folks. Did you take both drugs at the same time i.e. tapering Prednisone (5mg.) while taking uceris? Or was the transition a complete split -one day taking Prednisone the next day Uceris? Appreciate any feedback that might be helpful during the transition.

    • Jenna September 6, 2014 at 10:10 pm #

      That was one of my questions too, but my GI doctor said i could take both but to ween off the Prednisone. When I started Uceris I was taking 20mg of Prednisone, I did a longer taper, about 2 weeks of 20mg, 2 weeks of 15…10, I am about 2 months into Uceris and just stopped taking my 5mg of Prednisone yesterday actually. I am not sure if it was the right thing to do since my doctor said I could have tapered every 5 to 7 days, but I also had a new health issue, when my knee swelled up and I couldn’t walk on it, the orthopedic doctor had told me to stay on the prednisone since she thought it was arthritis, and she knew I was already taking Uceris. Anyways, like I said, I was taking both Uceris and Prednisone, if anything I think it helped me even more, but now that I am officially off the Pred, I am curious to see how I do on just Uceris alone. Good Luck to you Erin!

  9. Cathy January 23, 2015 at 1:54 pm #

    For those that have taken Uceris for the 8 week period, 9mg tablets one time a day, would like to know if anyone experienced weight gain and if so, how much?
    Thanks.

    • Becky g June 19, 2015 at 5:14 am #

      Yes I gained weight and I run/exercise almost every day

    • Chris July 6, 2015 at 5:38 pm #

      Yes did gain weight on uceris. Think I have been on it too long

    • Chris August 2, 2015 at 8:12 pm #

      Yes. Gained 10 pds

    • Kris C January 1, 2016 at 9:28 pm #

      I’ve been on Uceris for several months and have probably gained about 10 pounds.

  10. Sarah January 24, 2015 at 4:42 am #

    Unfortunately, Uceris did not work for me. I did not have any side effects but I also did not get any relief. I took it for about a month before I went on Prednisone. However, I am experiencing the longest and worst flare up of my 8th year diagnosis of UC.

  11. Megan May 18, 2015 at 2:49 pm #

    I have tried Uceris for 8 weeks- not only did it give me painful bloating, gas, and water renention, but it actually seed to make my bleeding worse. Every day I’d have two major bowel movements that were incredibly bloody. Now, before I started uceris, I was inflamed with my PAN UC but not as much bloody. The last 8 weeks I’ve been passing mostly blood and large blood clots. Doctor increased my lialda to 4x a day and introduced rowasa daily. But nothing has helped. Yesterday was my last day of uceris. I can promise you I won’t take it again. The pain I’ve been through these last two months was insane. Every bowel movement felt like I was being ripped apart internally and the pain got so bad it would make me throw up. Uceris definitely does not work for me.

  12. Becky g June 19, 2015 at 5:13 am #

    I’ve been on it for two months now. It immediately worked! But in the past couple weeks I’ve gotten itchy red skin and muscle cramps in feet and legs. Don’t think it’s a coincidence

    • Chris August 2, 2015 at 8:15 pm #

      I have leg and feet cramps too

  13. evelyn October 22, 2015 at 9:53 am #

    I have been on UCERIS two months now, doing way better. However, do have leg cramps, joints hurt, muscles hurt, no strength in my right arm? getting red spots on my face. So very very tired all the time and hungry all the time, starting to gain weight. Something has got to Give! I was under the impression that i would have to be on meds everyday from now on? Sure hope not and yes the UCERIS is $1773.00 WOW! its not just the wealthy people that get sick, what’s the average person supposed to do?

  14. Susan B
    SusanB January 4, 2016 at 5:14 pm #

    I was on Uceris for 60 days during October and November, 2015. It did seem to make my symptoms a little worse in the beginning, but the worst for me was the diarrhea. It was SO bad that my GI suggested I take it every other day. We finally settled on taking it every day until the diarrhea just got really bad, then I would back off to every other day until it calmed down. Then resumed daily again…back and forth like that. I also experienced some minor, but noticeable, prednisone-type symptoms. Body temp changes, some irritability, some bloating and weight gain. But nothing like being on prednisone. The good thing it resolved was my mucus. I had horrible mucus when I started it, and the mucus almost immediately went away and has not come back (it’s now January, 2016). Bleeding was never all that bad, but has not increased since I stopped using it. However, the diarrhea has persisted, and my urgent episodes seem to have increased. I know this drug works well for some, but except for the diminished mucus output, it didn’t seem to make much difference for me.

  15. Linda Hamilton January 6, 2016 at 3:51 pm #

    Budesonide was fine for me. Humira made me into a ranting raving mad woman. My doctor had no clue what medication he was giving me. He didn’t believe in diet. I fired the doctor, kept the diet I got from Adam’s web site and ditched the Humira. Now I am doing better.

  16. marykay February 18, 2016 at 1:44 pm #

    I was on uceris a month and gained 4 lbs ,but I am thin so it was o.k. no other side effects. It works for me.

  17. JonathanM February 28, 2016 at 4:30 pm #

    Took Uceris for the first time on Wednesday morning. I ended up in the hospital thinking I was having a heart attack. I’m 35 with no family history of heart problems but yet the doctors found enough signs of a heart attack they did a catheritization on me. No heart attack thank God. I was told to keep taking the Uceris because they didn’t think that was the cause so I took it again yesterday and am now having the same symptoms, just not as bad. I won’t be taking Uceris again

  18. Laura October 8, 2016 at 7:15 pm #

    Just started Uceris about 10 days ago, weaning off prednisone now. Still on Lialda. Had my first normal day in 6 months. Hoping it continues!

  19. Brenda November 18, 2016 at 6:56 am #

    I just started my Ulcera this morning. I’m on the down slope of a 5 month flare up – the worst I’ve had to date. Hoping for the best with little side effects. Your comments really helped me feel more at ease about taking this.

  20. sherry January 14, 2017 at 8:46 pm #

    Sherry
    This is my 2nd time on Uceris. both times worked immediately after having about 50 BM’s/day that were just like Niagara Falls. Had a few side effects at 1st…fatigue, nausea, headaches. They soon went away. After 1st time on it ( 9 mg 1x/day) for 8 weeks, I was only in remission for 2 months before having to go on it again. Am on it now & terrified that when I quit Uceris in another month, that it will once again rear it’s ugly head in a while. SO expensive & wonder why & how they can charge so much for it.

  21. sherry January 14, 2017 at 8:48 pm #

    and does anyone know what, if anything that you can do to help keep it in remission? Any drugs that would help?

  22. Grey May 2, 2017 at 6:27 am #

    I was diagnosed with microscopic colitis a week and a half ago. Going to the bathroom constantly…pure water. Went from 135lbs to 120 in less than a month. Started Uceris 4 days ago and am 85 percent better. Was sleepy after taking it the first couple of days and had a couple of slight headaches. Nothing else except last night I had a crazy, vivid dream which is not normal for me – don’t know if that’s a side effect or not. I haven’t seen anything online about that. I’m supposed to take 8 weeks but doubt I’ll need it – although I’m going to go ahead and get the refill while insurance is willing to pay. Ridiculous cost.

  23. Wendy
    Wendy Hammond August 22, 2017 at 9:26 pm #

    I’m so upset with my experience with Uceris I don’t even want to write about it fully or I will get worked up all over again. Caused a horrible flare. Horrible. On top of that I had a headache, eye pain (so bad I couldn’t touch my eye). My stools are loaded with blood.

  24. Kiyos July 26, 2019 at 3:13 am #

    Hi, I was diagnosed with Ulcerative Colitis in November 2008 when I was 38 years old. Ever since I have tried multiple treatments: the ATM treatment, Pentasa, Pentasa Enema, Asacol, health foods such as Bifiene M, kefir and Lactis for two years with no sign of remission. On top of that, I had side effects such as hair loss and joint pains.

    When my symptoms of diarrhea and bloody bowel discharge worsened and I was faced with the possibility of using steroid, I came across a blog (remissionofulcerativecolitis.com) and some articles about the efficacy of herbal medicine “Indigo Naturalis (Qing Dai)” on Ulcerative Colitis in 2010.

    Since then, my symptoms have been cured drastically with no side effects. At first, I took powdered indigo naturalis about one third of in a teaspoon after every meal as on instruction. Then, in about a week, the inflammation was cured, and gradually there was no need to worry about running into the bathroom.

    Now that tablets indigo naturalis are on sale, I always carry them out on me. Powdered indigo naturalis is hard to carry and very annoying to drink when taking, but tablets can be very easy to carry out and take everywhere.

    I highly recommend indigo naturalis. It is called “Qing Dai” in Chinese, which is commonly used in China, Taipei, Korea for as an herbal medicine and a natural healthy food.

    Indigo naturalis may be worth a try. Believe or not….

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

iHaveUC.com is located in Menlo Park, California - United States 94025