Free iHaveUC EBOOK Signup Form

Canasa Rectal Suppositories Reviews

Hey UC’ers,

By request from a fellow UC’er and user of the site, it’s time to create a review page for another colitis medication.

SO…

If you’ve ever used Canansa suppositories to help treat your ulcerative colitis symptoms, please feel free to click the “submit review” button below and type in your experience for others to read.

Canansa Suppositories are typically 1000mg of mesalamine which is the active ingredient.  They are quite expensive, so if you’ve found a way to reduce your costs, or if your insurance has provided help with this costly medication, definitely share the details in the review.

You can add  your experience here:

Click here to submit your review.


Submit your review
* Required Field

Canasa Canasa rectal suppository SKU UPC Model

Cheap but not effective for me

Jul 08, 2014 by Amber
City/country:: Los Angeles 

I contacted the company and told them my insurance didn't cover it but I had a prescription. I filled out a form, faxed it in and was given a card that allowed me to get Canasa for free. That was pretty nice.
Unfortunately it didn't work for me. It only seems to work with very mild cases of UC or IC only contained in the rectum area.


Canasa Review

Jun 02, 2014 by Laura

I am giving Canasa three stars because it helped when my colitis was mild and only affecting my rectum. Now that my colitis has gotten worse and is spreading up my colon, Canasa does not help.


Canasa

Mar 30, 2014 by Louis grippo

I have had UC for twenty years, Canasa has worked for me to a point, stops the bleeding, but I still wake up twice a nite to run to the bathroom. I am combining Canasa with librax and prednisone now, waiting for scope to be done. Last flare up was two years ago, been taking combination of meds for one month, still no great improvement. Actually good during the day, but nights are tough, if anyone has any advice please send my way, thanks.


Mar 17, 2014 by travis

canasa worked for a while, but now it is not working at all


Canasa

Feb 09, 2014 by Christine

It stopped the bleeding when I remembered to take it... but it didn't stop the fatigue/ bloated/ irritability (my bigger problem at the time)
It also did nothing to help me regain continence.


Canasa

Jan 27, 2014 by Bobbie

I was diagnosed with ulcerative proctitis in November of 2013
And was prescribed Canasa suppositories 1000mg nightly.
Two to three weeks after starting Canasa symptoms worsened so proctofoam was added. I used two Rxs of that, each RX lasting two to three weeks for one little can of the stuff. Today I was scoped and my GI Doc delightedly said "It looks normal", referring to my rectal cavity. He did find there was still 5 to 10%
Inflammation still present and rated the severity of my proctitis on a scale of 0 to 5 as a 1. I left with orders to continue with Canasa every night and a return appointment in 6 months.
I dare say Canasa worked very well for me.


Canasa

Jan 27, 2014 by Lari

When I was first diagnosed with UC, I had only left side colitis and was prescribed Canasa suppositories. They did not work very well for me. My GI switched my Rx to Cortifoam which worked very well for several years. Unfortunately, my disease progressed to pancolitis in 2006 and since then I have maintained on oral meds plus Cortifoam. So, unfortunately, Canasa was not a success story for me. I write this not to dismiss Canasa, but to let other UCer's know there are alternatives if Canasa doesn't work well.


Canasa Suppositories

Jan 27, 2014 by Sylvia

My last colonoscopy and sigmoidoscopy
In 2013 showed my inflammation
was now in my rectum and I had Proctitis. I suggested the Canasa suppositories toy GI doctor. He gave a prescription and I used it at night only for two weeks and I had blood free bowel movements. I was so excited. I was diagnosed in 2011 with C-Diff. I was very sick and had to take a leave from my job for a month. I have had C-Diff three times now. I stopped taking Lialda in September 2013. I have been on flagyl, and prednisone also for the C-Diff. I also follow the SCD as well as I can. I have not had wheat since September. I know diet is a very important for me. I am having bloody bowel movements again so this is my third day of using the Canasa. I already see a difference. I keep my suppositories in the refrigerator to keep them firm. I pay $35 and I have insurance. My GI doctor did not tell me anything about diet. If anyone who lives in NewYork City, Queens or Long Island and likes their GI doctor who is up on the gluten free or SCD diet, please let me know. I also have hemrroids and that causes bleeding also. Sometimes it is hard to know if I am bleeding from them or the Proctitis


Canasa

Jan 26, 2014 by Leslie

When I first was diagnosed my GI prescribed canasa. It worked great for my mild case. The inflammation ceases quickly but caused me to be gassy. Afterwards I was on Asacol because I continued on my 'regular diet.' He told me diet would help if I could stick to it, but being newly diagnosed I was just thankful to find something to help with what I was going through, not to mention I was 20 and didn't really wanna hear the word diet. :) I have learned though that diet is a HUGE part of caring for colitis. No meds for almost a year!! :) there is light at the end of the tunnel, but it's not easy getting there!


canasa

Jan 25, 2014 by Shannon

This has been a medication that puts me into remission. I have moderate UC when active and have not had any surgical procedures. I recommend this med. I have no extreme side effects, but I do think that this med along with the 4800 mg of Asacol caused some loss of hair. I have tried the mesalamine enemas and also steroid foam, both are messy, time consuming and didn't last long if they worked at all. I pay $50 for each refill...which is worth being symptom free. I only have to use the med 3x/week at most. It's the easiest rectal treatment I've used.


Using Canasa

Jan 24, 2014 by Debra

For the low impact on yyour body compared to Imuran, Humira, and Remicade, I think Canasa is a bargain. It helps with symptoms and keeps irritation down. It does not produce remission for me, but it is an easy safe, and effective tool in my body.


Canasa rectal suppositories

Jan 24, 2014 by Jacques

I have used Canasa several times whenever I have had a bad flare up with great results. I am using it now fr the last 2 months. I am currently using 2 suppositions a day. Biggest issue has been cost. My insurance does not cover this medication. I use the coupons found on a few sites and tt has even helpful. If anyone has any other ideas on getting Canasa at a lower cost lease post.


Canasa

Jan 24, 2014 by N. Gilley

I have had success using Canasa along with Apriso. Was able to come off Canasa recently and now just taking Apriso (same med just orally) and probiotics. My doctor prescribed 2 Canasa per day and my insurance company kind of balked at it first but ended up paying.


Jan 24, 2014 by Cara

I have had great success with Canasa. No side effects. I only use it when needed during a flare. Works fast and I get a great night sleep. Getting my 4th round of Remicade this week and finally seeing positive results. With my insurance, my co pay is $30 for Canasa. I've had the disease for 16 years and this is my winning combo...for now!


Pooping out canass

Jan 24, 2014 by Amanda h.

Canasa suppositories were my absolute savior when I went through my first flare! I have proctitis so the suppositories were really able to take over the entire inflamed part of my colon. I was so thankful for this because it really saved me.....but I soon began experiencing some not so fun side effects. When I inserted one at night I would constantly be waking up at 6am every morning needing to RUN to the bathroom. This would often be followed by pooping out nasty white liquid (that wasn't mucous) and a migraine. I would go back to sleep for a few more hours and wake up feeling fine, and had no diarrhea for the rest of the day. It wasn't a perfect situation but they really did help. Only thing is......you never really get used to having to insert things into your bottom :)


Jan 24, 2014 by Kasaundra

I've been off & on the Canasa for a couple of years. It works fast relieves all symptoms quickly! But if I miss a dose I'll start bleeding again. My Co pay is $60


Canasa

Jan 24, 2014 by Janene

I had good luck as long as innflamation was low. Used them to keep as much suppressants out of my system as possible after having kidney cancer. Tolerated well with no side effects.


Jan 24, 2014 by linda

I was originally prescribed Mesalamine enemas, but they caused severe cramping and so my doctor switched me to the Canasa suppositories. They have been effective without the cramping and pain caused by the enemas.


Canasa

Jan 24, 2014 by Amy

I was only on Asacol for less than a week, my symptoms kept getting worse with each day. My doctor switched me to Canasa and the next day I was feeling a lot better already! I've been on Canasa since September. I don't have any side effects from it. Do I love taking a suppository, no, but its easy, once at night. My symptoms have lessened a lot and my Dr recommended that I switch to every other night for tthe next several weeks. I go through insurance and my Co pay is $20, without insurance this medicine is extremely expensive taking a look at what they bill my insurance company.


Canasa Suppositories

Jan 24, 2014 by Joan

I've been using canasa suppositories for years to treat ulcerative proctitis. I have found great success with them. They reduce the inflammation that is directly related to proctitis (rectal inflammation) by being deposited right where the problem is occurring. I have been able to reduce the amount from one suppository in the morning and one in the evening, to just one suppository in the evening at bed time. It treats my symptoms overnight that way. I was able to reduce the number of times a day by taking probiotics, which also helped me drastically reduce all my other meds too. Canasa works for me and I have not had any negative issues with them.


Canasa

Jan 24, 2014 by Karen

I have been on and off Canasa for a while. When I switched doctors in 2012 and he did another colonoscopy he discovered I had UC proctitis and he had me back on Canasa and Lialda. After some experimenting I realized that it's the Canasa that keeps me from bleeding. Every time he tries to get me off Canasa I end up in a flare. I was bleeding and all for almost a year and finally I said I want to do Canasa in the evening and take Lialda in the morning. This was over 2 months ago and I've been symptom free. So for me I definitely believe Canasa works the best. I am not a fan of the suppository thing but I know it gets right into the blood stream and does its work!


Canasa...used

Jan 24, 2014 by Rosanne

Yes... I used them...have some just sitting. Only work if inflammation is down low. On another note...when you are inflamed they do not stay there!! Within minutes you are back in the bathroom making an expensive flush!! Much like Cortenemas. Again if not inflamed it will stay put. Inflammation....$$$$ flush!!


not that great

Jan 23, 2014 by Donald Wik

Six or seven years ago when I was first diagnosed with ulcerative proctitis, Canasa worked great. However, now after being diagnosed with UC, they aren't as effective. My guess is that they don't reach far enough to get to the colon. With my insurance I pay $25 a box.


Canasa Suppositories

Jan 23, 2014 by Rosemary

I used the canasa suppositories for about 3 -4 months after my colectomy as I still had some UC in the piece of rectum that was left. Unfortunately my hair started falling out. The gastro doc blamed it on the canasa and switched me to hydrocortisone 25mg suppositories. I still have residual discharge anywhere from 1 to 3 times a day (yes, even without a colon - no fair!) and if I miss one night of the suppository then my residual discharge is more bloodier and more mucusier than ever. I'd like to find something else.


Jan 23, 2014 by Elizabeth

I've had excellent results using Canasa to put an end to a flare up. I prefer this to oral medication - specifically Lialda, which made me extremely tired and achey - and I agree that it's a good choice for people with proctitis, like myself. It "sealed the deal" on the last bout, which was of much shorter duration and less intense symptoms, and I was symptom free after taking Canasa for just a night or two. I haven't noticed any side effects, either - so glad!


Some Relief

Jan 23, 2014 by Kimberly

I'm currently using twice a week after noticing some mucous coming back and one day of blood. I have had luck getting the mucous to stop before turning into a big flare. When I used these during the first major flare, I didn't notice complete relief. I have pretty good insurance and pay a small co-pay of $30.


Canansa Suppositories

Jan 23, 2014 by Sheila

When I used them they made me very nauseous and because of that I had to stop using them.


Much better than oral meds

Jan 23, 2014 by Kris

The oral mesalamine hurt my stomach and made me dizzy. I couldn't get the bigger pills down so I had to take a handful of the Asacol daily and they really didn't do much for my UC/proctitis.The Canasa suppositories were much more effective and put the medicine where it needed to go. They are a little messy after they melt, but this beats the symptoms of a UC flare by a couple of miles! They are expensive, but so were the oral meds. If you can't afford Canasa, the enemas work well and are cheaper. Same idea re: meds and localized application of meds.


Canasa Suppositories

Jan 23, 2014 by Rick Bolotin

I've been using Canasa for about 3 years now and initially I thought that it was helping, or maybe I was in remission. I contacted the pharmaceutical company for patient financial support and after jumping through hoops finally received some assistance. My gastroenterologist was able to get many samples for me, apparently company reps are giving away a lot to get more business but the company likes to make it difficult for the patients.
Now I'm supposed to take it twice a day but to stretch it out I only use it at bedtime. Makes me pretty gassy initially. I don't know if it is working or not but I keep using it as long as my Doctor says I should. It is important to keep on using it consistently. I also take the oral equivalent of this medicine as well.
It's important to remember to stick it as far up your rectum as you possibly can and it should stay in from 3 to 4 hours at least.
Good luck to all that try it.


Asacol/Canasa Suppositories

Jan 23, 2014 by Graham Lee

These worked great but I decided to stop taking them and will not for the foreseeable future, or any other IBD medicine for that matter. The inflammation was moderate for a short distance in the Sigmoid and so was prescribed 500mg. I was not generally a drug fan and started these reluctantly. Less than 2 months after taking them I had a minor stroke type episode, extensive tests showed no cardio vascular issues at all and this IBD drug was blamed. This drug can block the absorption of Folate which can be dangerous and TNF blockers such as these are believed to cause cranial nerve damage. Dizzy spells began a few days before my world caved in so beware of this symptom in particular. Read the pamphlet of any drug you are given and watch for anything out of the ordinary....


Canasa suppositories

Jan 23, 2014 by Alice B

For thr past 10 years I haven't been able to tolerate them at all. The only thing I have tolerated rectally was cortifoam.


Didn't have a good experience

Jan 23, 2014 by Heather

I was on canasa for a while last year. During that time I felt dizzy off and on, was more tired than usual and had a hard time focusing. Once I stopped taking it these symptoms went away. While on this medicine I also did not notice much of a change of my UC symptoms.


Canasa has been the best for me!

Jan 23, 2014 by Carrie D.

I have been using the suppositories since I was diagnosed in Jan. 2011 and have not had another flare since. I occasionally will fall asleep before using the medicine and still have not had any issues. I have never gone more than 2 nights in a row though. I have absolutely no side affects. I don't exactly enjoy using a suppository but it's supposed to be easier on your liver and too, I have proctitis so the suppository is ideal for the location of my disease. My copay is $35.00/month but it is well worth the price. I have to go to my proctologist yearly so he can assess the effectiveness of the medicine.


Jan 23, 2014 by Lori

I have been using Canasa for a little over a year now. While coming off a flare I used them twice a day for a year. GI Doc put me down to one a day since I haven't experience a bad flare again. I periodically do get some agitation, little pain once in a while but that is usually food related so if I'm a good girl, I feel fairly good, These are very expensive so very glad that I am down to 1 a day. I rarely ever miss a dose. Also trying to eliminate wheat and flours as much as possible have also been helping. I'd recommend.


Canasa- Definitely works for me!

Jan 23, 2014 by Kim

I've been using Canasa for over 10 years. I take it with Lialda, as needed. It definitely helps when Lialda alone doesn't work. Taken at bedtime, it's hardly noticeable and definitely helps. I honestly think the Canasa helps more than the Lialda, which I've been taking for 13+ years. I am beginning to think Lialda isn't even working anymore, even at 3 per day. Luckily, I am seeing my GI Doctor next week and will probably need another colonoscopy to determine if another med will be needed.


Jan 23, 2014 by veronica

Ive used Canasa suppositories as an adjunct to Llialda during a flare. They are especially useful for low left sided and rectal disease since they get directly to the inflammation. They do require that you are able to "hold onto them until melting" which can be a challenge during a flare. They are also just a bit messy (greasy ass to be graphic) Despite these small side effects I reccommend using them! Once my flare subsided (thankfully) I stopped using them but have 2 boxes in fridge for next time.


great to eliviate bleeding in rectum

Jan 23, 2014 by Sabine

I love Canasa and have been using it for several years. I find is especially effective when I have bleeding in my rectum. Canasa helps calm it down.


works good

Jan 23, 2014 by Katja

These suppositories work well for me.I have pancolitis and Canasa seems to help with the inflammation in the rectum area . They're easy to use and I don't experience any side effects. Luckily I have a low copay of only 17$ per month.


Canasa Review

Jan 23, 2014 by sara adams

I was put on Canasa for my ulcerative colitis and the only thing I got out of it was constipation and that was just one suppository and I didn't go for three days it was painful and sucked as I was pregnant at the time .


Jan 23, 2014 by lauren

I am currently using canasa. They work well as long as you are consistent and use them as directed. I became a bit lazy and forgot for a few nights and the bleeding returned so it's very important to make sure you don't miss any doses. I haven't noticed any side effects whatsoever so that's great. If anyone has been prescribed them I definitely support you giving it a try!


Works for me!

Jan 23, 2014 by Jennifer

I like the suppositories because they get right to the area that needs medicine, instead of oral medicine that takes a while to work.


Canasa suppositories

Jan 23, 2014 by Toni Bellin

They work well for me, particularly good for people with UC in rectum, proctitis. A tip ... They can be very expensive depending on your insurance plan. In Caanada, UK and I think Australia, they are sold under the brand name Salofalk, same drug, same drug co. Sometimes I buy them from Canada! you still need prescription.


Jan 23, 2014 by Holly

I think the canasa suppositories have kept my symptoms at bay much more than oral medication alone. I have pancolitis and my doctor says it works best to hit it from both ends. I get it for $40 with a savings card from their website. Otherwise my copay would be $75.


Canasa

Jan 23, 2014 by Cheyenne

I have been taking Canasa for my UC for a couple of months. First off this is really helping me. Sometimes I have a bad day still if something doesn't agree with me but while taking this I have waaaay more good days than bad. While taking this in my experience, right in the morning you will need to "go". Some of the medicine comes out (or the casing?) and in my case I feel very gassy which is relieved when I go as well. I also did experience some kidney pain when first taking as well so let your doctor know if you feel the same. Other than that I have no other side effects. Good luck!!


3.6 5.0 44 44 I contacted the company and told them my insurance didn't cover it but I had a prescription. I filled out a form, faxed it in and was given a card that allowed me to get Canasa for Canasa

Tags: Canasa





6 Responses to “Canasa Rectal Suppositories Reviews”

  1. MindyJanuary 23, 2014 at 1:05 pm #

    I currently use Lialda (asacol had recently taken off my insurance preferred list) but keep some canasa on hand in case I feel a flare coming. 2-5 days of using Canasa and I feel good again. I have great insurance and pay $40 for a 90 day supply (written daily as needed). I have blue shield ppo

  2. Joyce C
    JoyceJanuary 23, 2014 at 1:22 pm #

    Some tips for taking the suppositories learned through trial and error…
    *Warm the suppository to at least room temperature! Helps a lot.
    *Right before insertion squeeze the bottle until all the extra air is removed. This helps greatly with the gassy feeling.
    *Go slowly, take your time (going in increments) both inserting the medicine and then again easing the suppository out. Spending the extra few minutes will help with your comfort level.
    Sounds like common sense things but I had never used a suppository before and these tips were very helpful for me :-)

  3. KrisJanuary 23, 2014 at 2:00 pm #

    Joyce: I think you are talking about the enemas, not the suppositories. The suppositories are little waxy bullet-shaped things that you put in your bottom and they melt. Your tips on using the enemas, however, are absolutely correct and are very helpful.

  4. Joyce C
    JoyceJanuary 23, 2014 at 2:53 pm #

    Oh my gosh…you are absolutely right, Kris! Sorry about that. I have used both. Found the enemas to work better than the suppositories though so that was on my mind. Thanks for the correction :-)

  5. Robert MyersJanuary 23, 2014 at 3:22 pm #

    Hello, all. Great site.
    Background. An 80 YO with heart, blood pressure and cholesterol issues. UC treatments going on 3 years. Nothing has helped. Have gone through the following:
    Colozal – 9 pills a day gave me a headache; cut to 6 without headache.
    Mesalamine (3 forms) – Went off Colozal.
    Apriso – Started on 4 pills a day, went to 8/day for a few months, now on 4/Day.
    Lialda – Off Apriso, on Lialda for a few weeks, back on Apriso 4/day.
    Canasa – On for about 6 months.
    Prednisone – On for about 6 months; ankle swelling.
    Hydrocortisone (Colocort) – Nightly enema about the last year and a half. All I can do to get to the toilet fast enough.
    Remicade – 4 infusions.
    Humira – Self-administered shots for about 4 months.
    Uceris – 1 pill in the morning.
    Above are prescriptions; nothing has helped. Currently still taking Uceris, Apriso and Colocort.
    I’m also taking a number of supplements — 3 probiotics and a few digestive aids.
    I’ve also tried a homeopathic approach (based in India) and acupuncture (4 sessions). Neither helped.
    Straining on the toilet resulted in a double hernia; surgically repaired with mesh.
    Started the SCD about 5 weeks ago; doesn’t seem to be helping yet.
    I’m a mess; frustrated.
    R/Bob

  6. BethSeptember 8, 2014 at 9:21 am #

    I was diagnosed with ulcerative proctitis in June 2013. Prescribed sulfasalazene and Canasa. At 2 a day, without insurance I needed to come up with almost $1,500 monthly. I was given what samples were left for a 2 week supply, and it helped stop the bleeding during that time. Its been over a year and Im still not able to afford this drug. I do not qualify for the patient assistance program. I think I will probably take my chances with canadian pharmacies online.

Leave a Reply